Elaine Thompson beats Schippers over 200m in Diamond League opener

Jamaica's double Olympic sprint champion Elaine Thompson

Jamaica’s double Olympic sprint champion Elaine Thompson clocked a season-best 22.19 seconds to easily win the women’s 200 metres at the Doha Diamond League on Friday, the first event of the 2017 series.

Thompson was well in control coming off the curve and easily moved away from the field, with Dutchwoman Dafne Schippers claiming second in 22.45.

Marie-Josee Ta Lou of Ivory Coast, who finished fourth in the Olympic 100m and 200m finals, was third in a season-best 22.77.

The two other Jamaicans in the field – Simone Facey and Veronica Campbell-Brown,  the 2004 and 2008 Olympic champion, finished fourth and fifth respectively

Facey clocked a season-best 23.00 seconds, while Campbell-Brown did 23.09.

The series this year features the biggest restructure since it began in 2010 as the IAAF Diamond League has adopt a championship-style model whereby athletes earn points at the first 12 meetings to qualify for the two finals.


In previous seasons, athletes accumulated points throughout the IAAF Diamond League season with the overall winner of each of the 32 disciplines being the athlete with the most points, irrespective of whether they won the final.

This year, the winners of each discipline in the finals will be crowned as IAAF Diamond League champions, earning a $50,000 bonus and the Diamond Trophy.

The scoring system has also changed for 2017. Whereas previously only the top six finishers in each discipline earned points, the top eight will now be rewarded. Eight points will go to the winner, seven points to second place and so on, with one point going to the athlete in eighth place.

Each discipline will be staged six or four times before the finals. At the end of the 12 qualification meetings, the top seven, eight or 12 athletes (depending on the discipline) will be invited to compete in the final. In case of a tie, the best legal performance of the qualification phase wins.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here